Primary Source

Commonwealth of Independent States, Map 1994

Commonwealth of Independent States Map


This map outlines the political territories that took the place of the Soviet Union after 1991. The fifteen republics of the USSR became fifteen independent states: Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Ukraine, Moldavia, Belarus, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. The boundary lines etched onto the Soviet map remained intact, but now sovereign states took the place of the "empire of nations" that existed from 1917 to 1991.

This source is a part of the Nationalities and the Breakup of the Soviet Union, 1989-2000 teaching module.


Central Intelligence Agency, "Commonwealth of Independent States," (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1994), University of Texas.

How to Cite This Source

"Commonwealth of Independent States, Map 1994," in World History Commons, [accessed February 7, 2023]